Assignment 4: Typography

For my design I created a nameplate for my dog, Aolani. We named her Aolani because she is a grey and white miniature schnauzer and in Hawaiian Aolani means heavenly cloud. In order to incorporate the significance of her name I designed the background and shape of the nameplate to resemble a cloud. Her name is cut out of the middle and it also is outlined through etching. I also like that there is a seamless transition between the outside shape and the etched spirals that decorate the rest of the nameplate.

I created the text by first handwriting it, scanning it and then bringing it into Photoshop and Illustrator to make final adjustments.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-11-12-02-pm
Final design for lasercutting
Leave a Reply

